The mission of the Planning and Zoning Board is to promote orderly growth, preserve the character of communities, protect property values and promote economic development. This six-member board meets as needed and consists of citizens residing inside the town limits and citizens residing in the town's extraterritorial jurisdiction. Information concerning the town's Zoning Ordinances and Official Zoning Map may be obtained by contacting the Town Planner.

Planner:  Teresa Kinney, WPCOG   
                Phone:  828-485-4238

Current members of the Planning and Zoning Board are:

Brian Baird (I), Craig Baker (O), Scott Coe (I), Scott Dula (O), Rusty Helms (I) and Wayne Whisnant (O).